ICC ODIs Cricket World Cup Winners List

ICC Cricket World Cup is the main flagship tournament of international cricket and it is held every four years. Cricket World Cup is the third biggest sporting competition behind FIFA World Cup and Rugby World Cup. Cricket World Cup was started back in 1975 with the birth of One-Day cricket (50 over format) and West Indies went on to win the first two world cups.
So far 11 world cups have taken place and Australia is the most successful team having won 5 world cup titles and finished runners-up three times. India and West Indies has the competition twice each while Pakistan and Sri Lanka are the only other teams to have lift the biggest trophy in world cricket.Australian Dominance: Australia won the most recent competition which took place in February-March 2015 co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia. Australia defeated New Zealand in the final to win their fifth world cup title in Melbourne. Australia also won three back to back titles in 1999, 2003 and 2007 and it was India who broke their winning streak in 2011 when they won their second world cup.
1975West IndiesAustraliaEngland
1979West Indies AustraliaEngland
1983India West IndiesEngland
1987Australia EnglandIndia & Pakistan
1992PakistanEnglandAustralia & New Zealand
1996Sri Lanka AustraliaPakistan & India
1999Australia PakistanEngland
2003Australia IndiaSouth Africa
2007Australia Sri LankaWest Indies
2011India Sri LankaIndia & Bangladesh
2015Australia  New ZealandAustralia & New Zealand
2019 England
2023 India

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of